Skip to main navigation.
Automated pay by phone .. (844) 206-7878

Jackson Energy sends students to Frankfort leadership program

High school students from Jackson Energy’s service area got a first-hand look at state government during last week’s Frankfort Youth Tour.

Eight junior students from local high schools were selected to participate in the educational leadership program. The students were Emily Reed, Lee County High School; Lindsey Combs, Owsley County High School; Nathaniel Drew Bullock and Lydia Whitworth, Rockcastle County High School; Matthew Thomas, Jackson County High School; Anna McWhorter, South Laurel High School; and Peyton Swanner and Jane Michael-Anne Hall, North Laurel High School.

The tour is coordinated by the Kentucky Electric Cooperatives and local cooperatives, like Jackson Energy.

Students toured the state capitol building, Old Capitol museum and the governor’s mansion. They also heard presentations by Kentucky State Representative David Meade, Kentucky Electric Cooperatives President & CEO Chris Perry, Kentucky Secretary of Education and Workforce Development Derrick Ramsey, and Roxanne Lewis, with the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority.

“This program allows students the opportunity to learn about state government from leaders and professionals who work in Frankfort,” says Jackson Energy President & CEO Carol Wright, “and they also learn about Kentucky’s electric cooperatives and their role in local communities.”

CUTLINE – Representing Jackson Energy at the Frankfort Youth Tour were, front row, L-R: Anna McWhorter, Peyton Swanner, Lindsey Combs and Emily Reed. Back row, L-R: Lydia Whitworth, Jane Michael-Anne Hall, Nathaniel Drew Bullock and Matthew Thomas.